DOJ to monitor voting sites in these Florida counties

,hill) — The Justice Department announced Monday that it will monitor election sites in 24 different states across the country on Tuesday to ensure compliance with voting rights laws.

“Since the passage of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, the Civil Rights Division has regularly supervised elections in jurisdictions across the country to protect the rights of voters,” the DOJ wrote in a statement.

The department will monitor polling places in 64 jurisdictions in 24 states, including: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Massachusetts, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin.

The DOJ’s Civil Rights Division also announced that it would accept public complaints through its call center related to potential violations of voting rights laws.

Relevant laws include the Voting Rights Act, the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act, the National Voter Registration Act, the Help America Vote Act, and the Civil Rights Act.

The Disability Rights Section of the Civil Rights Division is in charge of overseeing the vote to enforce the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

The Division’s Criminal Division enforces laws to prevent voter intimidation and repression based on race, national origin and other traits.

Complete list of 64 courts being monitored, DOJ. According tois below:

  • City of Bethel, Alaska;
  • Dillingham Census Area, Alaska;
  • Kusilwak Census Area, Alaska;
  • Sitka City-Borough, Alaska;
  • Maricopa County, Arizona;
  • Navajo County, Arizona;
  • Pima County, Arizona;
  • Pinal County, Arizona;
  • Yavapai County, Arizona;
  • Newton County, Arkansas;
  • Los Angeles County, California;
  • Sonoma County, California;
  • Broward County, Florida;
  • Miami-Dade County, Florida;
  • Palm Beach County, Florida;
  • Cobb County, Georgia;
  • Fulton County, Georgia;
  • Gwinnett County, Georgia;
  • City of Clinton, Massachusetts;
  • Everett City, Massachusetts;
  • City of Fitchburg, Massachusetts;
  • City of Leominster, Massachusetts;
  • Malden City, Massachusetts;
  • Methuen City, Massachusetts;
  • Randolph City, Massachusetts;
  • Salem City, Massachusetts;
  • Prince George’s County, Maryland;
  • Detroit City, Michigan;
  • City of Flint, Michigan;
  • City of Grand Rapids, Michigan;
  • Pontiac City, Michigan;
  • Southfield City, Michigan;
  • City of Minneapolis, Minnesota;
  • Hennepin County, Minnesota;
  • Ramsey County, Minnesota;
  • Cole County, Missouri;
  • Alamance County, North Carolina;
  • Columbus County, North Carolina;
  • Harnett County, North Carolina;
  • Mecklenburg County, North Carolina;
  • Wayne County, North Carolina;
  • Middlesex County, New Jersey;
  • Bernalillo County, New Mexico;
  • San Juan County, New Mexico;
  • Clark County, Nevada;
  • Washoe County, Nevada;
  • Queens County, New York;
  • Cuyahoga County, Ohio;
  • Berks County, Pennsylvania;
  • Center County, Pennsylvania;
  • Leigh County, Pennsylvania;
  • Luzerne County, Pennsylvania;
  • Philadelphia County, Pennsylvania;
  • Pawtucket City, Rhode Island;
  • Horry County, South Carolina;
  • Dallas County, Texas;
  • Harris County, Texas;
  • Waller County, Texas;
  • San Juan County, Utah;
  • Manassas City, Virginia;
  • City of Manassas Park, Virginia;
  • Prince William County, Virginia;
  • Milwaukee City, Wisconsin; And,
  • Racine City, Wisconsin.

Personnel overseeing election sites will include representatives from the Civil Rights Division, various state attorneys’ offices and the Office of Personnel Management.

Source link

Share your love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *